揭开秘鲁印加帝国的神秘面纱:莫瑞(Moray)的圆形梯田究竟是什么?

莫瑞(Moray)圆形梯田遗址在秘鲁库斯科西北部50千米之处。而莫瑞(Moray)究竟是什么?这些神秘的圆形梯田由印加帝国之前的文明所建,因其神秘色彩和古老奥秘吸引着众多游客。尽管每年游客众多,圆形梯田的用处还是仅限于各类理论。

尽管如此,莫瑞遗址的物理特质还是能让我们窥得其中的一些奥秘。这些圆形梯田最深处达到30米,令人惊奇的同时也一定经过精心盘算。圆形梯田的战略性位置对于光照和风向都有重要影响,圆形梯田的顶部和底部温差可达到15摄氏度。

这样的温差有什么重要性呢?有研究者认为,印加帝国时期,莫瑞被做为一种农业试验的场所,用以种植不同植物。

Moray

进一步的研究表明,这些圆形梯田含有其他地区的泥土,由此可进行猜测,也许印加帝国人民在研究地区变化如何影响重要谷物的生长。

印加帝国的人们是率先种植土豆(大约在公元前8000年)。玉米也是在印加帝国时期很重要的谷物,有上千种不同的种类。有一些含有超大的内核,一些质感尤其硬,还有一些甚至完全紫色。广受欢迎的Chicha de Jora酒,正是由紫色的玉米酿成。

 

在1527年,也是印加帝国的鼎盛时期,印加帝国的统治范围从现哥伦比亚南部到智利中部,超过2000,000平方千米。这一地区的地貌包括丛林、沙漠、海滩、山脉。印加帝国的首都正是现库斯科。

印加帝国的遗迹聚集在库斯科,例如神秘的莫瑞圆形梯田,萨克赛华曼(Sacsayhuaman),还有最著名的马丘比丘遗址。希望研究者们今后的发现带着我们进一步揭开莫瑞梯田的奥秘。

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

What Were the Mysterious Circles of Moray?

Only one of Cusco’s mysteries!

About 50 km northwest of Cusco, you find a site of architectural marvel and historical curiosity – Moray. But, what was Moray? These mysterious circles built by pre-Inca cultures, stand as a favorite Cusco destination due to its ancient mystery and other-worldliness.

Despite the visits it gets per year, the purpose of these structures is still limited to theories.

 

The Mystery behind Moray

We gather evidence from the physical attributes of Moray. With circles & craters being as deep at 30m (100ft) they exhibit surprising, but definitely planned characteristics.

With strategic positioning in regards to both sun and wind, the temperature difference from the top terrace to the bottom field can vary as much as 15*C (59*F).

Why this remarkable variance in temperature? Some say that the Incas used Moray as an experimental agriculture laboratory!

Moray

With the investigation showing different terraces containing dirt from other regions, it is possible that the Incas were studying how regional changes would affect the growth of their essential crops.

The Incas were the first to cultivate potatoes (from 8,000 B.C.). Corn was also essential to the Inca Empire, coming in thousands of varieties. Some contained over-sized kernels, some grew especially sturdy, and some were even completely purple!

Corn Variations Peru

 

The Largest Empire in the Historical New World

At the height of their reign in 1527, the Inca Empire spanned from southern Colombia to central Chile, an area of over 2,000,000 km-squared. This area included environments ranging from jungles, deserts, coasts to mountains. The capital of their world was here, in Cusco.

The greatest remnants of the Incas lie here in Cusco: including the mysterious circles of Moray, Sacsayhuaman, and, of course, Machu Picchu. We delight in rediscovering these ancient wonders and hope that researchers continue teaching us more about them in the future.

Discover the mystery of Moray!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.